>>   Become a member

Join now to enjoy exclusive benefits

07 Nov 2011

New CPD gapfill session dates announced for holders of CFA Level I + IMC

Following a programme of successful events throughout 2011, CFA UK has announced six new CPD gapfill sessions for early 2012:

These sessions are designed for those needing to meet the FSA?s qualification requirements under the Retail Distribution Review. Delegates will normally have passed the Investment Management Certificate, the IMC, at level 3 (completed before September 2010) and the CFA Level I, II or III examinations.

Both CFA UK members and non-members are able to attend. 

Find out more about RDR solutions for holders of CFA, IMC and ASIP.

Questions about gapfilling for RDR should be directed to Cindy Sharman, education manager.

Back to list

The CFA Society of the UK (CFA UK) serves society’s best interests through the provision of education and training, the promotion of high professional and ethical standards and by informing policy-makers and the public about the investment profession.

The society supports the CFA Program® and is the awarding body for the Investment Management Certificate (IMC), the UK’s leading entry level qualification for investment professionals. The society also supports the ASIP designation that was awarded to those passing the Associate examinations of the IIMR.

Founded in 1955, CFA UK represents the interests of roughly 10,000 investment professionals. CFA UK is part of the worldwide network of member societies of CFA Institute (the global, not-for-profit association of investment professionals that sets the standard for professional excellence and credentials, and awards the CFA and CIPM designations) and is the largest society outside North America.

CFA UK members work across the investment profession. While the most common roles for members are portfolio manager and research analyst, members occupy a wide variety of positions and work for many different types of firm. Similarly, the society's portfolio manager and research analyst members cover the entire range of asset classes and specialisms. Their common characteristic is a determination to practice and uphold the highest level of professional and ethical standards.

The society was founded in 1955 as the Society of Investment Analysts. At its inception, there were six founding members. Membership had grown to 180 within a year (despite a restriction on the number of members per firm) and had increased to 500 within five years. By the time of the society's first name change - to the Institute of Investment management & Research (IIMR) - in 1992, the society had just less than 3,000 members. As at May 2012, the society had more than 10,000 members.

Throughout its early years, the society built close links with analyst societies in Europe and North America and was instrumental in developing formal training for analysts and investment managers. The society's Associate examinations were introduced in 1979 (complementing the diploma examination that had been established earlier) and the Investment Management Certificate (IMC) was launched as the benchmark examination for investment management in April 1994.

The IIMR and the London Society of Investment Professionals (LSIP) merged in August 2000. LSIP had been founded several years earlier as the member society for CFA Institute members in the UK. The merged society was initially named the UK Society of Investment Professionals, but was renamed CFA Society of the UK in November 2007.